Cover image for While the clock ticked
While the clock ticked
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlap, [1990]

Physical Description:
174 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
680 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.7 5.0 5699.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.3 7 Quiz: 13157 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Clarence Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library X Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Riverside Branch Library X Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Central Library J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Series

On Order



A banker who has been receiving threatening notes enlists the help of the Hardy boys. Before long, the young sleuths find themselves entangled in the investigation of a notorious band of thieves.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Google Preview