Cover image for What happened at midnight
What happened at midnight
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlap, [1995]

Physical Description:
173 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
690 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.8 5.0 5698.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 5.2 7 Quiz: 13145 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Central Closed Stacks
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
X Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



Frank and Joe race against time to retrieve a scientist's top-secret invention before thieves get their hands on it. But the young detectives soon discover that they are involved in a mystery far greater in scope than just safeguarding the invention. When Joe is kidnapped, this incident starts Frank of on a chase that could end disastrously for him and his pals.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

I Burglarsp. 1
II Amazing Inventionp. 10
III Warning Messagep. 16
IV The Cold Trailp. 26
V The Huntp. 37
VI Fogged Inp. 47
VII The Escapep. 56
VIII An Astounding Reportp. 65
IX Smuggler's Trailp. 74
X Elevator Chasep. 82
XI Discovered!p. 89
XII Tunnel Scarep. 96
XIII Exciting Assignmentp. 105
XIV Identification Diamondp. 114
XV Pursuitp. 124
XVI Bail Out!p. 130
XVII The Trapped Pilotp. 136
XVIII Outsmarting the Enemyp. 145
XIX Anchor Petep. 154
XX Captives' Hideoutp. 162