Cover image for The Viking symbol mystery.
The Viking symbol mystery.
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlap [1991]
Physical Description:
175 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
730 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.7 5.0 5696.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.5 7 Quiz: 16797 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
X Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



The Canadian Northwest beckons Frank and Joe Hardy to mystery and adventure. It all starts when a French-Canadian trapper, Caribou Caron, makes a historical and valuable find--a carved rune stone left by Vikings centuries ago near Great Slave Lake. When Caribou Caron attempts to sell the artifact to a representative of a museum, it is snatched by thieves. Like the intrepid Vikings of old, Frank and Joe, with their close pal Chet Morton, set off on a perilous quest in the Northwest Territories to recover the valuable artifact before the robbers can decipher the symbols leading to the buried treasure.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

Chapter I Radio Threatp. 1
Chapter II A Mysterious Labelp. 11
Chapter III Rune Stone Cursep. 22
Chapter IV Dangerous Solop. 29
Chapter V Detective's Doublep. 39
Chapter VI Canadian Giantp. 48
Chapter VII White Waterp. 55
Chapter VIII Missing Campersp. 65
Chapter IX Grizzly Charge!p. 75
Chapter X An Amazing Suspectp. 84
Chapter XI Surprise Tacticsp. 94
Chapter XII Offbeat Assignmentp. 106
Chapter XIII Explosion!p. 115
Chapter XIV Buffalo Park Cluep. 124
Chapter XV The Gray Terrorp. 131
Chapter XVI Secret Ingredientp. 137
Chapter XVII Viking Messagep. 144
Chapter XVIII Whistler's Signalp. 152
Chapter XIX Stampede!p. 159
Chapter XX Norsemen's Treasurep. 166