Cover image for The sign of the crooked arrow
The sign of the crooked arrow
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlap, [1976]

Physical Description:
178 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
The Hardy brothers interrupt their investigations of jewelry-store holdups to answer a plea from their cousin on a New Mexico cattle ranch.
Reading Level:
690 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.2 5.0 5692.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.3 7 Quiz: 13171 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Series
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



With only the slender clue of an arrow-shaped tie clasp, Frank and Joe Hardy pick up the trail of a cunning gang of thieves responsible for a wave of jewelry-store holdups. But their investigations are interrupted when a desperate plea for help comes from their widowed cousin who lives on a cattle ranch in New Mexico. Frank, Joe, and their pal Chet fly there immediately, and manage to put an end to the trouble at the ranch and solve the jewelry-store robberies.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

I The Abandoned Carp. 1
II Daylight Robberyp. 9
III Dead-End Cluep. 18
IV Distressing Newsp. 28
V Expensive Evidencep. 38
VI Police Raidp. 49
VII Another Puzzlep. 57
VIII Followedp. 66
IX Forced Landingp. 73
X A Suspicious Foremanp. 84
XI A Second Chancep. 93
XII Bunkhouse Brawlp. 100
XIII A Poisoned Pointp. 109
XIV A Familiar Facep. 118
XV The Galloping Archerp. 125
XVI Mystery Smokep. 133
XVII Captured!p. 141
XVIII A Grim Storyp. 152
XIX Thundering Possep. 161
XX Final Roundupp. 170