Cover image for The secret panel
The secret panel
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlap, [1974]

Physical Description:
178 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
A chance meeting with a stranger on the road provides the Hardy brothers with a clue to a gang of local burglars.
General Note:
On spine: The Hardy boys series.
Reading Level:
690 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.1 5.0 5688.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.3 7 Quiz: 13151 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
X Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense
X Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



Another exciting mystery begins for Frank and Joe when they help a stranger who has had an accident with his car. The man introduces himself as John Mead, owner of a nearby estate. But when the Hardy boys find an odd-looking house key and try to return it, they realize that John Mead died five years ago! They are even more amazed when they find that the intricately carved doors in the deserted mansion have no visible knobs or keylocks. What happens when Frank and Joe discover that there is a link between their father's case of thieves and the mysterious Mead mansion will keep the reader on edge with thrills and suspense.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

I A Startling Discoveryp. 1
II The Battered Doryp. 9
III Disturbing Developmentsp. 22
IV The Traffic Signal Cluep. 32
V A Futile Searchp. 41
VI The Strange Symbolp. 51
VII The Mysterious Mansionp. 58
VIII Tricked!p. 67
IX Found and Lostp. 75
X The Intruderp. 85
XI Kidnappedp. 96
XII Fingerprintsp. 102
XIII The Picklockp. 114
XIV Time to Act!p. 122
XV Prisonersp. 130
XVI Double Troublep. 136
XVII The Wreckp. 143
XVIII Holding a Suspectp. 151
XIX Closing Inp. 161
XX The Trapp. 170