Cover image for The secret of Wildcat Swamp
The secret of Wildcat Swamp
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlap [1997]

Physical Description:
178 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
An archaeological expedition in the West turns into a desperate attempt to capture robbers and an escaped convict.
Reading Level:
770 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.7 6.0 5687.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 5.7 7 Quiz: 16746 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Series
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



An invitation from Cap Bailey, science teacher at Bayport High, to accompany him out West to Wildcat Swamp on an archaeological expedition triggers off a series of dangerous events for Frank and Joe Hardy. On their way West the boys and Cap have a near-fatal accident in a private plane which has been sabotaged. Though warned to leave the area, Frank, Joe, and Cap doggedly remain until they have caught the cunning ex-convicts they are up against in this swift-paced adventure.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

I Prison Breakp. 1
II Escape by Trainp. 9
III A Hazardous Take-offp. 17
IV Fingerprint Tipp. 24
V Into Perilous Countryp. 31
VI Deadly Dangerp. 43
VII Skeletons and Schemesp. 53
VIII Ordered Outp. 65
IX Lost!p. 73
X Three Odd Lettersp. 82
XI Underground Snarep. 90
XII Ambushp. 97
XIII An Icy Dungeonp. 104
XIV Thieves' Campp. 113
XV The Wreckp. 122
XVI The Rough Ridep. 129
XVII A Friendly Outlawp. 138
XVIII Trapped!p. 149
XIX To the Rescuep. 159
XX The Roundupp. 171