Cover image for The secret of Skull Mountain
The secret of Skull Mountain
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlop, [1975]

Physical Description:
177 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
720 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.6 5.0 5683.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.3 7 Quiz: 13159 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
X Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



There is a crisis in Bayport! Soon the city will be without water! Every night, water strangely disappears from the new reservoir near Skull Mountain. Frank and Joe Hardy join forces with a team of skilled engineers to solve the baffling mystery.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

I A Mysterious Skullp. 1
II Strange Laughterp. 12
III Chet Joins Upp. 21
IV Sailor Hawkinsp. 33
V The Missing Scientistp. 40
VI Two Masked Menp. 50
VII A Hatchet Jobp. 59
VIII A Disappearancep. 69
IX Tiger Troublep. 79
X The Deserted Boatp. 87
XI Cast Adriftp. 96
XII Decoy Huntp. 106
XIII Dangerous Cargop. 116
XIV A Mountain Puzzlep. 124
XV The Escaping Streamp. 129
XVI A Night Lightp. 136
XVII The Rear Roomp. 141
XVIII The Secret Tunnelp. 149
XIX A Surprising Explanationp. 163
XX Smoked Outp. 172