Cover image for The clue of the screeching owl.
The clue of the screeching owl.
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlap [1990]
Physical Description:
177 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
730 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.8 5.0 5655.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.5 7 Quiz: 16762 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Series
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



When dogs and men suddenly disappear, and strange screams fill the night, fantastic stories of vengeful ghosts are almost believable. It is these strange happenings which bring Frank and Joe Hardy to the Pocono Mountains to help their father's friend solve the mystery of Black Hollow. But when the Hardy boys and Chet Morton arrive at Captain Thomas Maguire's cabin on the edge of the hollow, he has disappeared. Frank and Joe are determined to find the captain, despite Chet's misgivings after a night of weird and terrifying screams. Strangely, it is a small puppy that discloses a most unusual and surprising set of circumstances, involving a mute boy, an elusive hermit, and a fearless puma trainer.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

I Puma Charge!p. 1
II A Midnight Scarep. 12
III An Eerie Trailp. 21
IV The Windowless Cabinp. 29
V A Reluctant Sheriffp. 36
VI Unusual Baitp. 46
VII The Hermitp. 55
VIII Rock Barragep. 63
IX Setting a Trapp. 71
X Sketch of a Thiefp. 79
XI The Tailor's Cluep. 87
XII Chet's Rusep. 96
XIII Worrisome Watchingp. 105
XIV Flash Firep. 113
XV Ragged Footprintsp. 123
XVI The First Findp. 132
XVII Help!p. 140
XVIII A Harrowing Rescuep. 148
XIX Prisoners!p. 157
XX Triumphant Sleuthsp. 168