Cover image for The Arctic patrol mystery
The Arctic patrol mystery
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Grosset & Dunlap, [1997]

Physical Description:
176 pages, 2 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, 1 map ; 20 cm.
General Note:
Reading Level:
700 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.4 5.0 5651.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.5 7 Quiz: 16788 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



Private investigator Fenton Hardy enlists the aid of his teenage detective sons in a search for a missing man being sought by an insurance company. All leads to the sailor's whereabouts have petered out and the boys fly to Iceland, the man's native land, hoping to find a new clue. From the moment Frank and Joe arrive in Reykjavik, the capital city of Iceland, they are in constant danger. In the spine-chilling pursuit that follows, Frank and Joe uncover a diabolical espionage plot that threatens the life of a U.S. astronaut and NASA'S moon project.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

I Icelandic Secretp. 1
II Thug for Hirep. 14
III An Ancient Customp. 23
IV Astronauts' Salutep. 34
V The Boiling Pitp. 42
VI Tricked in the Skyp. 51
VII A Harrowing Blizzardp. 62
VIII Something Fishyp. 69
IX Man of the Seap. 78
X The Arctic Patrolp. 86
XI Over the Wavesp. 95
XII A Mysterious Offerp. 103
XIII Eavesdroppersp. 110
XIV A Perfect Disguisep. 118
XV A Bad Breakp. 128
XVI The Boxesp. 135
XVII Shut Inp. 142
XVIII Divide and Conquer!p. 150
XIX Hijackers!p. 159
XX Cool Hand Chetp. 168