Cover image for Horrible Harry and the dungeon
Title:
Horrible Harry and the dungeon
Author:
Kline, Suzy.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Viking, [1996]

©1996
Physical Description:
56 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Summary:
It's almost summer vacation and the students in room 2B are having trouble concentrating on their butterfly project, until a frightening-looking new teacher comes to supervise the Suspension Room and Harry is sent there as punishment for unruly behavior.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
"Ages 7-10"--Cover p. [4].

430 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 3.1 1.0 15298.

Reading Counts RC K-2 3.5 3 Quiz: 05340 Guided reading level: L.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780670868629
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
X Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
X Juvenile Fiction Easy Fiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

All the kids from Room 2B are on fire to get their first glimpse of the school's mysterious new teacher, Mr. Skooghammer. With a name like that and a job as the head of the Dungeon (a.k.a. the Suspension Room), it's no wonder everyone's interested in Mr. Skooghammer--and even more interested to see whether or not Harry will become his first prisoner.


Author Notes

Suzy Kline was born August 27, 1943 in Berkeley, California. She graduated from the University of California at Berkeley with a degree in European History.

She was an elementary school teacher for over 25 years before retiring. While teaching, she wrote over thirty books for children. Her most well-known works include titles in the Horrible Harry, Herbie Jones and Song Lee series.

Ms. Kline now writes full-time and travels to schools and libraries and speak about writing.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Gr. 2^-3. The delicate and the gross work together nicely in Miss Mackle's 2B classroom, where butterflies hatch in a giant net cage and where Horrible Harry sees himself as the tough guy in a melodrama. There's a new discipline teacher with an earring in his EYEBROW: Will he punish Harry in the "dungeon" room in the basement? Fans of Song Lee, Harry, and Doug will enjoy the latest simple chapter book about school matters that loom large and surprise you. --Hazel Rochman


School Library Journal Review

Gr 2-3‘Once again, Horrible Harry and the rest of the gang from Room 2B provide beginning chapter-book readers with an engaging story. Harry is determined to explore the newly designated suspension room, which he dubs "the dungeon." An opportunity presents itself when classmate Song Lee inadvertently ignores the teacher's instructions concerning a class butterfly project. Harry takes the blame, and his plan to get suspended is put into motion. When things go awry, it's up to his friend Doug, who narrates the tale, to save him from a horrible disaster. The humorous conclusion complements the book's more serious themes, such as loyalty and responsibility. Kline's characters are likable, yet realistic second graders. The combination of actual school experiences and comic elements of plot and characterization makes this title a worthy addition to previous titles.‘Carol Fazioli, Cardinal Hayes Library, Manhattan College, NY (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.