Cover image for Unbreathed memories : a Hannah Ives mystery
Unbreathed memories : a Hannah Ives mystery
Talley, Marcia.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Random House, [2000]

Physical Description:
272 pages ; 18 cm
General Note:
"A Dell book".
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Mass Market Paperback Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Is the key to a therapist's murder hidden a patient's mind?

Is a shrink's death fall a Freudian slip?

Hannah Ives has every reason to mind her own business. Having survived a recent bout with breast cancer, she's opting for reconstructive surgery and a fresh start. Her Annapolis home is decorated for better feng shui. Her parents are living close by. And her sister, Georgina, is finally getting help for recurring depression. Everything is coming up roses-until her sister's therapist takes a nosedive off a balcony.

Now, with Georgina a prime suspect in the murder, Hannah needs to do some analysis of her own. A few pages torn from an appointment book may hold a crucial clue. And some bizarre memories from her sister's past may point to a motive...if Hannah can keep a clear head and dare to enter the darkness of a killer's twisted mind....

Author Notes

Marcia Talley 's first Hannah Ives novel, Sing It to Her Bones , won the Malice Domestic Grant in 1998 and was nominated for an Agatha Award as Best First Novel of 1999. Unbreathed Memories , the second in the series, appeared in 2000. Both were featured alternates of the Mystery Guild. She is also the editor of a collaborative serial novel, Naked Came the Phoenix , where she joined with twelve bestselling women authors to pen a tongue-in-cheek mystery about murder in an exclusive health spa. Her short stories have appeared in magazines and collections. Talley lives in Annapolis, Maryland, with her husband, Barry, a professor at the US Naval Academy. When she isn't writing, she spends her time traveling or sailing.

Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

An engaging combination of domestic drama and murder mystery, Talley's second Hannah Ives mystery (after Sing It to Her Bones) centers on the plucky heroine's ability to see her family through a crisis. After Hannah's recent battle with breast cancer, her retired parents move back to Annapolis, Md., where Hannah, her husband and her older sister reside. The family seems peaceful until Georgina, Hannah's younger sister who lives in Baltimore, is accused of murdering her therapist, who had been treating her for a protracted bout of postpartum depression. To make matters worse, the childhood memories that Georgina claims caused her emotional problems threaten to tear the family apart. Hannah resolves to prove the memories false and, with the advice of a retired mystery writer (and a few pages from the therapist's appointment book), she sets out to find the real killer. Talley's Hannah is an indefatigable caretaker and an irresistible protagonist who does her amateur sleuthing in between helping her parents move and babysitting her sister's kids. Ultimately, however, the novel is more a heartfelt (and melodramatic) story of a family's healing than a suspenseful mystery. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved