Cover image for The book of the stone
The book of the stone
Paxson, Diana L.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Avon Eos, [2000]

Physical Description:
viii, 192 pages : map ; 21 cm.
Personal Subject:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X BOOK 4 Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



After years of conflict, Britannia finally knows peace and Artor reigns from his throne at Camalot. But discontent rumbles through the kingdom. A new generation longs for the glory their fathers knew. Medraut, the son conceived by deceit, lusts for Artor's crown -- and his queen. Dreams of an empire draw the king to Gallia to battle again, leaving the sovereignty of the isle in Guendivar's hands. As Artor's painful absence grows longer, the land cries out for its champion -- and even the queen doubts his return. With the rise of revolt home to a country in turmoil. Only he can heal the land and reclaim the kingdom -- or else the hallowed isle will be ripped asunder once again.

A darkness born and bred for revenge shadows the nation. But one hope shines -- the Defender of Britannia.

Author Notes

Diana L. Paxson, a noted fantasy author who collaborated with Marion Zimmer Bradley on much of her later work, lives in Berkeley, California. She has written twenty books including the Arthurian novel "Hallowed Isle".

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

School Library Journal Review

YA-This volume concludes Paxson's series on the "Matter of Britain." The previous volumes focused on Merlin's life and his origins in prehistory; the Roman influences underlying Arthur's values; the role played by the Saxons; and the variety of spiritual traditions seeking to prevail in determining the fate of Britain. Book Four begins in A.D. 502 when peace has been established and Camalot rules, but Arthur soon leaves on a seemingly hopeless quest to bring peace to Gallia. In the years of his absence, Guendivar grows in stature and becomes a true queen; Morgause finally finds peace as a priestess of Avalon; Medraut, Arthur's troubled son, attempts to usurp the throne; and the kingdom is once again torn by strife. Ultimately the land itself ("the stone") asserts its power to guide the key figures through these cataclysmic events. Though it is the end of one age, spiritual and cultural traditions have been set in motion that will continue to guide Britain's destiny in the years to come. Paxson's vivid retellings of the familiar story bring out the depth of its mythical and magical qualities and should please fans of Gillian Bradshaw, Marion Zimmer Bradley, and other writers who mix historical fiction with fantasy.-Christine C. Menefee, Fairfax County Public Library, VA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Table of Contents

Prologuep. 11
I The Seed Once Sownp. 13
II A Circle of Kingsp. 40
III In the Place of Stonesp. 73
IV The Orchardp. 102
V The High Queenp. 134
VI A Wind from the Northp. 167
VII Bitter Harvestp. 196
VIII Beltain Firesp. 228
IX The Turningp. 260
X Raven of the Sunp. 294
Epilogue: Rex Aeternusp. 327
People and Placesp. 332