Cover image for Death by surprise
Death by surprise
Hart, Carolyn G.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Unity, Me. : Five Star, 1999.

Physical Description:
216 pages ; 22 cm.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
X Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
X Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



Attorney K.C. Carlisle lives and works as a storefront lawyer in an exclusive northern California seaside town. When her lawyer cousin Kenneth is arrested on a murder charge and other family members are implicated, K.C. plunges into a search for the killer -- even thought the investigation may destroy her late father's good reputation. K.C. faces some ghosts from her past as she attempts to bring the real criminal to justice.

Author Notes

Carolyn G. Hart is the author of eight award-winning Death on Demand mysteries and four Henrie O mysteries. The first writer to win all three major mystery awards--the Agatha, the Anthony, and the Macavity--for her novels, Hart is the former president of the organization Sisters in Crime.

Hart's first novel in her mystery series, entitled Death on Demand, focuses on prime murder suspect Annie Laurance Darling and her attempt to clear her tarnished name. Some of the other novels in the series include Something Wicked, winner of the Agatha Award in 1988 and the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original in 1989, Design for Murder, and Honeymoon with Murder, which won the Anthony Award in 1990. Letter From Home also won the Agatha Award for Best Novel in 2003.

Her latest novel is entitled, The Devereaux Legacy. (Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

In the new introduction to this Carolyn Hart classic, the author admits that as a young teen she "devoured hard-boiled private eye books." She goes on to explain that the present title, first published in 1983, "is as near that genre as I have ever come." Attorney K.C. Carlisle, a self-described liberal who practices in La Luz, Calif., gets pulled into a family drama when an unscrupulous freelance writer tries to blackmail her wealthy kin. All the Carlisles have deep, dark secrets-K.C. herself, her mother, two brothers, and two cousins, not to mention her late, sainted father, a judge. The premise strains credulity, as does the blackmailer being stupid enough to invite the victims to come one at a time to her apartment. Still, K.C. does a decent job investigating the case and putting the pieces together. When a potential love interest says to her, "You've slept around some," and she shrugs, the reader is likely to laugh out loud. Hard-boiled? Not so much. (Nov.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.