Cover image for Rain mirror : new poems
Title:
Rain mirror : new poems
Author:
McClure, Michael.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : New Directions, 1999.
Physical Description:
xi, 100 pages ; 21 cm.
General Note:
"A New Directions paperbook original, NDP887"--P. [4] of cover.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780811214261
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
PS3563.A262 R25 1999 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Rain Mirror", writes poet Michael McClure, "is my most bare and forthright book. It contains two long poems, 'Crisis Blossom' and 'Haiku Edge' which are quite disparate from one another". Yet brought under a single cover, the poems compliment each other as do light and dark, the Apollonian and the Dionysian, Yin and Yang. "Haiku Edge" is a serial poem of linked haikus in the American idiom. Often humorous, sometimes harsh, always elegant, they catch moments in the landscape of Oakland's East Bay Hills where McClure now lives. "Crisis Blossom" in contrast is a long poem in three parts ("Graftings", "After the Solstice", and "After Meltdown") that record the poet's months' long shock and recovery after a near-fatal airplane accident. It is, in McClure's words, "my state of psyche, capillaries, muscles, fears, boldnesses, and hungers, down where they exist without management". With Rain Mirror, the poet moves in two directions, inward and outward, to arrive at the balance point between the self andnonself: There's Me/and no me/on the other side/I'm here under hand/And There/where thoughts glide".


Author Notes

A native midwesterner, Michael McClure is associated with the San Francisco renaissance of the mid 1950's, and his work, in the tradition of Blake and Artaud, is prophetic in tone and usually quite experimental on the printed page. His plays, "The Beard" (1965) and "The Tooth of Crime" are underground theater classics. He is part of the poet's theater movement that was revived in San Francisco in the 1980's.

(Bowker Author Biography)