Cover image for The truthsayer's apprentice
Title:
The truthsayer's apprentice
Author:
Christian, Deborah.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Tom Doherty Associates, [1999]

©1999
Physical Description:
396 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
General Note:
"A Tor book"--T.p. verso.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780312872694

9780312865160
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Terry Brooks and David Eddings comes the first volume of the Loregiver series, the epic fantasy of an unforgettable quest for a stolen magical robe.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Launching her new Loregiver fantasy series, this role-playing walkabout leaves Christian's earlier Mainline setting for a Tolkien-derivative northern universe devoid of any flights into convincing Faerie. Adolescent-angst-filled farm boy Dalin suddenly finds himself alone when a mysterious band of invaders hurls his master, Truthsayer Grannar, from his icy aerie and makes off with the Truthsayer's cloak of office. Dalin follows the band onto a treacherous slope only to be ambushed and left to die by Hanno, a renegade runemaster who plots to steal the cloak from his erstwhile allies. Conveniently saved by a high-ranking elf and the Guardian of the Thorn, who are themselves in pursuit of the garment, Dalin flounders from one predictable scrape to another, until at last he learns to master his innate magical powers. Christian calls up all the usual Old Norse paraphernalia--shape-shifters, selkies, dwarfs, runestones, dragonship. But her story line miscarries, for its characters lack depth and the questing often seems pointless. Though pleasant enough for a little harmless escapism, this excursion into high fantasy is a pedestrian one. Agent, Chris Lottis. (Dec.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Library Journal Review

When raiders murder Granmar the Truthsayer and steal his magical robe of office, young Dalin of Nevi--Granmar's apprentice--sets out on a perilous journey to recover the robe and avenge his master. Christian's (Mainline) use of alternating chapters to follow the progress of Dalin and his quarry provides a close look at the motivations and personalities of both the hero and his adversaries. An abundance of magic, from elemental sorcery and runic spellcasting to priestly healing and nature summonings, adds variety to this series opener set in a world flavored with images from Norse and Icelandic mythology. A good choice for most fantasy collections. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.