Cover image for The Black Lyon
The Black Lyon
Deveraux, Jude.
Personal Author:
Standard print hardcover edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Five Star, 1997. c1980.
Physical Description:
293 pages ; 22 cm
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



Darkly handsome and rich beyond imagining the bold English conqueror was called Lyonfor his-lionlike fierceness. He had no match among enemies, or women ... until he met Lyonene, the green-eyed beauty whose fiery spirit matched his own. Through a whirlwind romance and stormy marriage, she endured every peril to be by his side... until jealousy and vicious lies drove her across the Irish Sea and into rave danger. One man could save her -- only the fierce Black Lyon had the courage to destroy the ruthless plot that had driven them, apart and threntened the bond of love they had vowed could never be broken

Author Notes

Jude Deveraux is the author of 25 New York Times bestsellers, including High Tide, The Blessing, An Angel for Emily, Legend, and The Duchess. She began writing in 1976, and to date there are more than 30 million copies of her books in print. Ms. Deveraux is currently at work on her next novel.

She lives in Connecticut.

(Publisher Provided) Jude Deveraux was born in Fairdale, Kentucky on September 20, 1947. She was a fifth-grade teacher in Santa Fe, New Mexico, when a publisher accepted her first book, The Enchanted Land (1978). Since then, she has written more than 35 romance novels including Lavender Morning, Return to Summerhouse, Secrets, Someone to Love, Wild Orchids, Holly, The Mulberry Tree, The Summerhouse, Temptation, A Knight in Shining Armor, and Remembrance. Deveraux 's series the Nantucket Brides Trilogy, made the New York Times Bestseller list in 2014 and 2015.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

Perhaps the longest lasting dynasty in romance belongs to Jude Deveraux's Montgomerys. Spanning dozens of books, the family has followed the course of love from the Middle Ages to today. Start with The Black Lyon (Avon. 2007. ISBN 978-0-06-072721-5. pap. $4.99), the story of Ranulf de Warbrooke, a powerful warlord, and his quest to win Lady Lyonene. Deveraux's character development is particularly strong in her early books, and she does a wonderful job bringing these two headstrong characters together. Their first child, born in the midst of a classic rescue scene, is named Montgomery, and thus the dynasty begins. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.