Cover image for Will you please be quiet, please? : stories
Will you please be quiet, please? : stories
Carver, Raymond.
Personal Author:
First Vintage contemporaries edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Vintage Books, 1992.

Physical Description:
251 pages ; 21 cm.
Fat -- Neighbors -- The idea -- They're not your husband -- Are you a doctor? -- The father -- Nobody said anything -- Sixty acres -- What's in Alaska? -- Night school -- Collectors -- What do you do in San Francisco? -- The student's wife -- Put yourself in my shoes -- Jerry and Molly and Sam -- Why, honey? -- The ducks -- How about this? -- Bicycles, muscles, cigarets -- What is it? -- Signals -- Will you please be quiet, please?
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Audubon Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Dudley Branch Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Kenmore Library FICTION Adult Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



With this, his first collection of stories, Raymond Carver breathed new life into the American short story. Carver shows us the humor and tragedy that dwell in the hearts of ordinary peop≤ his stories are the classics of our time.

"[Carver's stories] can ... be counted among the masterpieces of American Literature." --T he New York Times Book Review

"One of the great short story writers of our time--of any time." -- The Philadelhpia Inquirer

"The whole collection is a knock out. Few wriers can match Raymond Carver's entiwining style and language." -- The Dallas Morning News

Author Notes

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position.

Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class.

Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing.

Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Google Preview