Cover image for A shred of honour
Title:
A shred of honour
Author:
Connery, Tom, 1944-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Washington, DC : Regnery Pub. ; Lanham, MD : Distributed to the trade by National Book Network, [1999]

©1999
Physical Description:
314 pages : map ; 24 cm
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780895262691
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary


In the tradition of Patrick O'Brien and C.S. Forester's Horatio Hornblower series comes author Tom Conerry's own Lieutunant George Markham of the Royal Marines.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Just when you thought the publishing industry was done with the Napoleonic wars, yet another saga of a British fighting man, in this case, Lieutenant George Markham of the Royal Marines, commences. When his superior is killed in action, Markham inherits command of a frigate's marine detachment--a motley crew of the king's bad bargains, half of them transferred soldiers. Taking them ashore at Toulon, under the censorious eyes of superiors who suspect him of being an Irishman, a Catholic, and a coward, Markham has to bring them to heel, train them in small-unit tactics (well depicted), and steer a course through the tangled web of French politics woven by both the perpetrators of the terror and those fleeing it. Several well-drawn historical characters, including the inevitable Lord Nelson and the undeservedly obscure Sir Sydney Smith, join the cast, and the action rises to a grand and bloody climax of fire, murder, and hairbreadth escape. In all, a highly promising launching. --Roland Green


Publisher's Weekly Review

This new addition to the lively subgenre of adventure novels set around the time of the Napoleonic Wars is the first of three in the Markham of the Marines series originally published in the U.K.; it travels familiar ground, but acquits itself honorably enough. In 1793, when Lt. George Markham takes up a low-ranking commission in the English army, the French Revolution is only four years old and Napoleon is still a French artillery officer. On board the ship carrying Markham's regiment to the siege of Toulon, the officer's reputation is much discussed. Markham is an Irish bastard (son of an English general), "probably a Papist, certainly a rake," and labeled a coward because of a mysterious court martial 12 years earlier. Though no one trusts him to command even his ground troops after he is implicated in the death of another officer, Markham finds himself in charge of a "mixed bag of Lobsters and Bullocks"Ämarines and armyÄdefending Toulon from the onslaught of French troops. Once on the ground, the plot complications are worthy of Baroness Orczy or either Dumas. Is that silent boy the Dauphin? Are those anti-Terror bourgeois really Directorate spies? Has Markham seen a glimpse of incest? There is plenty of swashbuckling action and gory detail, and events include amorous dalliances, British snobbery and conflicting loyalties leading to diverse betrayals. A loving history of the English rifle "Brown Bess" and cameo appearances by Sir Sydney Smith, Horatio Nelson and Napoleon himself flesh out the military plot, which culminates in a daring last-minute escape from the victorious French. The writing is serviceable, and genre fans will probably enjoy the tale, as long as they don't expect anything near the level of Patrick O'Brian's Aubrey/Maturin novels. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Google Preview