Cover image for The further chronicles of Conan
The further chronicles of Conan
Jordan, Robert, 1948-2007.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, NY : TOR, [1999]

Physical Description:
509 pages : map ; 25 cm
General Note:
"a TOM Doherty Associates Book"
Conan the magnificent -- Conan the triumphant -- Conan the victorious.
Added Title:
Conan the magnificent.

Conan the triumphant.

Conan the victorious.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Robert Jordan, international bestselling author of the Wheel of Time series, has been called the greatest writer since Robert E. Howard to tell the stories of Conan the Barbarian. Now his three most breathtaking chronicles are available for the first time in one volume, to the sure delight of Jordan and Conan fans everywhere. In Conan the Magnificent, our hero is stalked amid the savage crags of the Kezankian Mountains, caught between rival armies as the sultry huntress Jondra closes in. InConan the Triumphant, he enters the service of the sumptuous Lady Synelle, unaware that she is the secret high priestess of the demon-god AlKirr. In the third chronicle, Conan faces his most terrifying adversary yetthe Sinavi, demon guardians of the ancient tomb of the Vendhyan kings. He must first seek out an antidote to the unknown poison coursing through his veins, then resist the charms of the voluptuous noblewoman Vyndra, if he is to be Conan the Victorious.

Author Notes

Robert Jordan was born James Oliver Rigney Jr. on October 17, 1948 in Charleston, South Carolina. He received a B.S. in physics from The Citadel in 1974. He served two tours of duty in Vietnam with the U.S. Army and won The Distinguished Flying Cross, the Bronze Star and two Vietnamese Crosses of Gallantry. From 1974 to 1978, he worked for the U.S. Civil Service as a nuclear engineer.

During the 1980's, he began writing several novels for the Conan the Barbarian series that was created in the 1930's by Robert E. Howard. He also wrote under many pseudonyms, which include the historical novels The Fallon Blood (1980), The Fallon Pride (1981) and The Fallon Legacy (1982) as Reagan O'Neal; and the western Cheyenne Riders (1982) as Jackson O'Reilly. He wrote articles for periodicals for the Library Journal, Fantasy Review and Science Fiction Review as Chang Lung. He was the author of the Wheel of Time series and The Towers of Midnight.

He died on September 16, 2007 following a battle with cardiac amyloidosis. Jordan was cremated and his ashes buried in the churchyard of St. James Church in Goose Creek, outside Charleston.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

Everyone starts somewhere, and #1 bestselling author Jordan (the Wheel of Time series) started, more or less, here: with three classic pastiches of Robert E. Howard's mighty-thewed hero, published in mass market in the early 1980s. In Conan the Magnificent, the big guy is a thief in Zamora, where he and another (female) thief, Tamira, have their eyes on the precious jewels owned by the powerful Lady Jondra. To get them, Conan must vanquish a shaman, a dangerous tribe and a firedrake. In Conan the Triumphant, an older Conan works as a captain of mercenaries in Ophir. The cunning Lady Synelle is making bloody sacrifices to the ancient and evil god al'Kiir in order to consolidate her claim to the throne. Synelle takes an interest in Conan when he comes into possession of an image she can use to revive the god. Also pursuing Conan, but with more deadly motives, is the female bandit Karela, his old rival and lover. In Conan the Victorious, our hero must flee Turan after killing an officer of the City Guards. He ends up en route to Vendhya, with a caravan that is about to plunge into an intrigue conjured up by one Naipal, a wizard who is trying to revive an army of immortal warriors. It takes all of Conan's strength, wits and allies to fulfill the title's promise. For all their careful plotting and world building, Jordan's Conan tales are delightfully implausible, filled with rousing descriptions of extravagant physical feats and willing women. His action-packed novels add few new nuances to Conan's character, but they make an entertaining continuation of his adventures, and enjoyable fare for Jordan fans until the Wheel of Time rolls back into sight. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Table of Contents

Conan The Magnificentp. 9
Conan The Triumphantp. 171
Conan The Victoriousp. 329