Cover image for Lavender lies : a China Bayles mystery
Title:
Lavender lies : a China Bayles mystery
Author:
Albert, Susan Wittig.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Berkley Prime Crime, 1999.
Physical Description:
306 pages ; 22 cm
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9780425170328
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library FICTION Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Mystery
Searching...
Central Library FICTION Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Clearfield Library FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Elma Library FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Lancaster Library FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Orchard Park Library FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Williamsville Library FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library FICTION Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Texas herbalist China Bayles must put her upcoming nuptials on the back burner when a murder investigation entangles her friends and neighbors.


Author Notes

Susan Wittig Albert was born in Illinois in 1940. In 1985, she changed careers from working as the vice president and an English professor at Texas State University to becoming a full-time writer.

During the mid- to late-1980s, Albert was a ghostwriter for the Nancy Drew mystery series. She wrote the acclaimed "Work of Her Own: How Women Create Success and Fulfillment off the Traditional Career Track" in 1992. Under the pseudonym of Robin Paige, Albert and her husband, Bill Albert, co-authored a twelve-volume mystery series set in late Victorian/Edwardian England.

Albert writes the bestselling China Bayles mystery series, which features as its main character a Texas herbalist who had been a criminal attorney in Houston. Albert also writes the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter historical fantasy series, which is set in England during the early twentieth century.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Just before herbalist China Bayles' and police chief Mike McQuaid's wedding in Pecan Springs, Texas, the town is rocked by the murder of a greedy developer. China and McQuaid bring their unique skills to the task of finding the murderer before the case preempts their wedding. Albert's eighth China Bayles mystery starts slow but rallies with a tantalizing plot, a surprise ending, and some great dialogue. Along the way, she delivers witty reflections on flowers and herbs, Texas Rangers, beauty parlors and "big hair," and the special attractions of the Texas hill country. The book's eccentric characters and small-town charm will appeal to fans of Earlene Fowler's Benni Harper series and Joan Hess' Maggody novels. --John Rowen


Library Journal Review

China Bayles is a week away from marrying her beloved fianc‚, the interim police chief of Pecan Springs. However, the murder of Edgar Coleman puts a damper on her plans, so China decides to help her husband-to-be solve the crime. Edgar, who was known for his shady deals and philandering ways, had many enemies, so China and her friend Ruby decide to investigate, and what they turn up adds more suspects to the list and more possibilities that China will miss her honeymoon. Can Ruby and China solve the murder? Will China still get married? Lavender Lies is a simple but fun story with little gore and lots of plot twists that will keep readers guessing until the very end. Albert does a fine job reading her own work, a tape that should find a home in most mystery collections.--Danna Bell-Russel, Library of Congress (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview