Cover image for The final Fabergé
The final Fabergé
Swan, Thomas.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Newmarket Press, 1999.
Physical Description:
308 pages ; 24 cm
General Note:
"A novel of suspense."
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
FICTION Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Rumor has it that a mysterious Faberg#65533; Egg disappeared in the days just before the Russian Revolution. It's up to Scotland Yard art crime detective Jack Oxby to solve the mystery and find the infamous art treasure. Trouble is, whoever attempts to find the Faberg#65533; Egg turns up dead. No matter for Oxby, the fearless hero of Thomas Swan's two previous art crime thrillers, The Da Vinci Deception and The Cezanne Chase. The Final Faberg#65533; is a page-turning novel of suspense that fans of the British television series Lovejoy, the art history mysteries of Iain Pears, and the classic film The Thomas Crowne Affair, will thoroughly enjoy.

Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Swan continues his art-crime series featuring Scotland Yard's Detective Inspector Jack Oxby. Following The Cezanne Chase (1997) and The Da Vinci Deception (1998), Oxby is now hot on the trail of the last Fabergeegg created before the Russian Revolution. The fabulous jeweled egg, commissioned by the monk Rasputin for his patron, the Tsarina Alexandra, has not brought happiness to those who have owned it--beginning with its disappearance on the night Rasputin was assassinated. Now a Russian crime boss wants the egg, but murder follows in its wake. The story is told in a relatively straightforward manner, but the pacing is quick and the action plentiful. Swan surrounds the low-key Oxby with a high-spirited cast of lowlifes, especially Galina, the Russian gun-for-hire, who knows more than one way to kill a cat. Swan's series strikes a comfortable balance between the more hard-boiled Lovejoy antique mysteries and Iain Pears' more literary art-historical crime novels. --Ilene Cooper

Publisher's Weekly Review

On the night of his murder in 1916, Grigori Rasputin picks up a Faberg‚ Imperial Easter egg he'd commissioned as a gift for Czarina Alexandra Feodorovna. In 1963, Vasily Karsalov loses the egg in a rigged poker game. More than 30 years later, Vasily's son Mikhail, now known as Mike Carson, has become a U.S. citizen, the owner of several car dealerships. At the opening of a new showroom, Carson is visited by Sasha Akimov, an old family friend, who tells Carson how his father was cheated out of the egg. Before revealing more, Akimov is shot. Meanwhile, in London, Det. Chief Insp. Jack Oxby takes a leave from Scotland Yard to accept a commission from the Forbes family to determine if Rasputin's Imperial egg still exists and, if so, to find it. New York City police detective Alex Tobias is investigating Akimov's murder when a meeting with Oxby provokes him to join the dangerous, cross-continental search for the precious artifact. Swan carefully intertwines the search for the murderer and the search for the egg so that the novel's numerous coincidences appear believable. And while Oxby doesn't sound the least bit English, he is charming and disarmingly intelligent. With only two other entries (The Da Vinci Deception and The C‚zanne Chase), Swan's series of art world mysteries has a short history, but its clever premises and excellent characters earmark it for a long future. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Library Journal Review

A King Tut-like curse apparently appends itself to anyone searching for Faberg‚'s legendary last-made Imperial egg, missing since the death of Rasputin. Scotland Yard's Inspector Oxby learns this only after beginning his own search for a famous art collector. An exciting blend of fact, exotic climes, and intrigue. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.