Cover image for Key West
Title:
Key West
Author:
Cameron, Stella.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Kensington Books, [1999]

©1999
Physical Description:
392 pages ; 24 cm
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9781575664545
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Concord Library X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Grand Island Library X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Lackawanna Library X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Lancaster Library X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Orchard Park Library X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Tormented by nightmarish flashbacks, and stalked by a shadowy menace that pushes her to the edge of sanity, a woman--convinced that the events that killed her husband and caused her to lose her unborn child were not accidental--returns to Key West to find the truth.


Author Notes

Stella Cameron was born and raised on the southern coast of England where she met her American husband at a party in London. After their marriage, she left England and went with husband Jerry to Washington State to make a home and raise a family. Like many authors, Stella began her literary career as a reader. As a young girl, Stella was a self-professed reading "addict", devouring all types of literature. She learned very early to retreat from the demands of others into a gentler world -- her own. As a child and a young adult, books saved her because they helped free her while they entertained her. Her love of reading always went side-by-side with her love of writing. Nineteenth-century author Jane Austen was a particular favorite, and Stella admits that she particularly enjoys reading and writing books set in the 1800s, as well as contemporary novels. In 1980, Stella decided she wanted to write professionally. She attended writing classes and wrote short literary fiction for a year. It was during this period that Stella discovered how well-written and intense romantic fiction could be. Using her newly acquired writing skills, she began to write contemporary romantic fiction for Harlequin Americans and Intrigues. After several years, she moved up to Harlequin SuperRomances. In 1992, she made the switch to single titles with her first historical, Only By Your Touch. She has also authored a series entitled Rossmara Quartet along with several other romance titles. Stella Cameron sees herself as an entertainer and historian who adds her perspective to contemporary values through writing.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Sonnie Giacano, frail and scarred from a car accident that claimed the life of her unborn daughter on the night she learned that her husband had been abducted by terrorists, returns to Key West to try to resolve the issues that plague her. A kind-hearted gay couple hire her to work in their bar and hook her up with Chris Talon, a gorgeous tough-guy ex-cop fleeing his own demons, who may be able to help her solve the mystery of that fateful night. Sonnie's brother-in-law and her sexy sister, with pet psychiatrist in tow, arrive to help, but could they have other motives? When Sonnie's house catches fire and a murdered man is found inside, the danger heats up, as do the blazing passions of Chris and Sonnie. Things start out slowly, but the pace accelerates to a heart-pounding finale. Readers who like Tami Hoag and Karen Robards will surely enjoy this romantic suspense novel by the author of French Quarter (1998). --Diana Tixier Herald


Publisher's Weekly Review

Steamy, atmospheric and fast-paced, Cameron's romantic suspense novel delivers on all fronts. Wealthy Key West doormat Sonnie Giacano can't remember exactly what happened eight months ago, the night her brash, tennis star husband, Frank, was apparently kidnapped, because she wrecked her car and miscarried her unborn child. Although Frank had just declared his intention to leave her, saying, "I do not find pregnant women sexy," the loss of her baby torments Sonnie. Emotionally scarred, she bartends at a local dive under the caring eyes of Roy Talon. Roy knows Sonnie's tragedy is tangled up with murderous deceptions, and, luckily for her, Roy's brother Chris is a disillusioned former NYPD police officer who retreated to Key West to escape his own nightmarish past. A reluctant Chris is dragged into investigating the case after Sonnie starts hearing voices singing a lullaby, "Hush little baby, don't you cry.... " When her husband's brother and her own sister show up on the island with a shrink in tow, it seems the family is conspiring to wangle control of Frank and Sonnie's considerable fortune. Whether the plot is to get Sonnie committed or killed, Chris fights for her life, now believing that Sonnie is both sane and the perfect woman for him. The mysterious voices persist as a fire at Sonnie's house reveals a body, hinting that Sonnie may be more unhinged than her new lover thinks she is. Cameron (French Quarter) makes Sonnie's sanity more questionable with every turn of the page, while depicting Chris's growing conviction that his emotions can't be denied. Subplots involving missing cad Frank, his Jag-driving look-alike brother and Sonnie's cruel sexpot sibling add strength to a solid plot. The elysian Key West setting is dramatized by the hurricane season's menace, but readers will most enjoy the good-guy/good-girl romance that blossoms amid an evil family's convoluted schemes. Author tour. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Google Preview