Cover image for Brave hearts
Brave hearts
Hart, Carolyn G.
Personal Author:
Standard print hardcover edition.
Publication Information:
Unity, Me. : Five Star, 1999.

Physical Description:
289 pages ; 22 cm.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Catherine Cavanaugh was the beautiful wife of an ambitious American diplomat - a woman who denied her passions and hid her regrets. Jack Maguire was a brash reporter who lived by his wits and broke all the rules. In a moment, their lives touched and a dangerous love was born. From bomb-shattered London to the besieged Philippines, Catherine and Jack were caught in the sweeping tides of war. Finally, Catherine was forced to make a choice between keeping her love trapped inside her forever, or embracing the joy meant for only for brave hearts...

Author Notes

Carolyn G. Hart is the author of eight award-winning Death on Demand mysteries and four Henrie O mysteries. The first writer to win all three major mystery awards--the Agatha, the Anthony, and the Macavity--for her novels, Hart is the former president of the organization Sisters in Crime.

Hart's first novel in her mystery series, entitled Death on Demand, focuses on prime murder suspect Annie Laurance Darling and her attempt to clear her tarnished name. Some of the other novels in the series include Something Wicked, winner of the Agatha Award in 1988 and the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original in 1989, Design for Murder, and Honeymoon with Murder, which won the Anthony Award in 1990. Letter From Home also won the Agatha Award for Best Novel in 2003.

Her latest novel is entitled, The Devereaux Legacy. (Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

This entry in the Carolyn Hart classics series, a romantic thriller first published in 1987, has some of the hallmarks that characterize Hart's mature mysteries, but fans of her Dead on Demand series (Dead, White, and Blue, etc.) should be prepared for a run-of-the-mill apprentice work. In May 1941, Catharine Cavanaugh, whose ambitious diplomat husband, Spencer, has a plum assignment in London, falls in love with an American newspaper man, Jack Maguire. Later in the year, Spencer is transferred to the Philippines, along with Catharine. Jack follows them to Manila, soon occupied by the Japanese army. Initially depressed, obedient, and passive, Catharine finds courage, strength, and love in adversity, though contemporary readers may find her more pathetic than sympathetic. The male characters act predictably and show little development. The vivid Philippine setting and stirring historical events are a plus. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.