Cover image for The Devereaux legacy
The Devereaux legacy
Hart, Carolyn G.
Personal Author:
Standard print hardcover edition.
Publication Information:
Unity, Me. : Five Star, 1999.

Physical Description:
174 pages ; 22 cm.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
X Adult Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



Even though her own heart was breaking, Coley could still derive great pleasure watching the angry scowl on Jason's face as she mocked him about his plans to have her for his wife. How upsetting for him and his plans for the Slash S ranch that Coley wasn't falling into his arms as he had expected her to. But how long could Coley maintain her distance from this arrogant man who made her heart race?

Author Notes

Carolyn G. Hart is the author of eight award-winning Death on Demand mysteries and four Henrie O mysteries. The first writer to win all three major mystery awards--the Agatha, the Anthony, and the Macavity--for her novels, Hart is the former president of the organization Sisters in Crime.

Hart's first novel in her mystery series, entitled Death on Demand, focuses on prime murder suspect Annie Laurance Darling and her attempt to clear her tarnished name. Some of the other novels in the series include Something Wicked, winner of the Agatha Award in 1988 and the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original in 1989, Design for Murder, and Honeymoon with Murder, which won the Anthony Award in 1990. Letter From Home also won the Agatha Award for Best Novel in 2003.

Her latest novel is entitled, The Devereaux Legacy. (Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

In the new introduction to this Carolyn Hart classic reissue, Hart (What the Cat Saw) explains just how difficult it was for a woman to publish mysteries in the late 1970s ("New York believed in two kinds of mysteries, the hard-boiled private eye books written by American men and traditional mysteries written by dead English ladies"). Leah Devereaux Shaw's quest to locate other family members after the death of the grandmother who raised her takes Leah to a historic plantation in South Carolina, where she finds a ghost, danger, and love. Despite the dated, formulaic plot, this "gothic romance" (as it was labeled on first publication in 1986) shows the promise of the future winner of multiple Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity awards. Hart fans will appreciate what were later to become the author's signature elements: the Lowcountry setting, the vivid physical description, and surprising twists. (Feb.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Library Journal Review

Leah, a lovely young woman from Texas, shows up at the Devereaux plantation in South Carolina because she recently learned that she was born there. Her appearance causes a local sensation, because everyone thought she had died in a boating accident along with her parents when she was just a baby. Her maternal grandmother is shocked and thrilled, of course; Leah is the spitting image of her deceased mother. But some of her cousins react coldly, knowing their inheritance is at risk. Now Leah must contend with a Civil War-era ghost who haunts the grounds, two handsome strangers, and cold-fish cousins. VERDICT Turn up your gothic-romantic suspense meter for this spooky Low Country treat. Hart's 1986 standalone has enough espionage and intrigue to keep readers guessing. Recommend this quick read to those longing for the old-fashioned romantic suspense novels of Phyllis Whitney or Victoria Holt. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.