Cover image for The theatre of Tennessee Williams.
The theatre of Tennessee Williams.
Williams, Tennessee, 1911-1983.
Physical Description:
volumes <1-5, 7 > ; 21 cm.
v. 1. Battle of the angels. The glass menagerie. A streetcar named Desire -- v. 2. The eccentricities of a nightingale. Summer and smoke. The rose tattoo. Camino Real -- v. 3. Cat on a hot tin roof. Orpheus descending. Suddenly last summer -- v. 4. Sweet bird of youth. Period of adjustment. The night of the iguana -- v. 5. The milk train doesn't stop here anymore. Kingdom of Earth (The seven descents of Myrtle). Small craft warnings. The two-character play -- v. 7. In the bar of a Tokyo hotel, and other plays

Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PS3545.I5365 A19 1990 VOL. 2 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
PS3545.I5365 A19 1990 VOL. 2 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area

On Order



The Theatre of Tennessee Williams brings together in a matching format the plays of one of the America's most influential and innovative dramatists. Arranged in chronological order, this ongoing series includes the original cast listings and production notes.

Author Notes

After O'Neill, Williams is perhaps the best dramatist the United States has yet produced. Born in his grandfather's rectory in Columbus, Mississippi, Williams and his family later moved to St. Louis. There Williams endured many bad years caused by the abuse of his father and his own anguish over his introverted sister, who was later permanently institutionalized. Williams attended the University of Missouri, and, after time out to clerk for a shoe company and for his own mental breakdown, also attended Washington University of St. Louis and the University of Iowa, from which he graduated in 1938. Williams began to write plays in 1935. During 1943 he spent six months as a contract screenwriter for MGM but produced only one script, The Gentleman Caller. When MGM rejected it, Williams turned it into his first major success, The Glass Menagerie (1945). In this intensely autobiographical play, Williams dramatizes the story of Amanda, who dreams of restoring her lost past by finding a gentleman caller for her crippled daughter, and of Amanda's son Tom, who longs to escape from the responsibility of supporting his mother and sister.

After The Glass Menagerie,Williams wrote his masterpiece, A Streetcar Named Desire, (1947), along with a steady stream of other plays, among them such major works as Summer and Smoke(1948), Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1954), and Suddenly Last Summer (1958). His plays celebrate the "fugitive kind," the sensitive outcasts whose outsider status allows them to perceive the horror of the world and who often give additional witness to that horror by becoming its victims. Stephen S. Stanton has summed up Williams's "virtues and strengths" as "a genius for portraiture, particularly of women, a sensitive ear for dialogue and the rhythms of natural speech, a comic talent often manifesting itself in "black comedy,' and a genuine theatrical flair exhibited in telling stage effects attained through lighting, costume, music, and movements." After The Night of the Iguana (1961), Williams continued to write profusely---and constantly to revise his work---but it became more difficult to get productions of his plays and, if they were produced, to win critical or popular acclaim for them.

Williams won the Pulitzer Prize for drama for A Streetcar Named Desire and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. He won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for these two and for The Glass Menagerie and The Night of the Iguana.

(Bowker Author Biography)