Cover image for Shenandoah and other verse plays
Title:
Shenandoah and other verse plays
Author:
Schwartz, Delmore, 1913-1966.
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
Brockport, NY : BOA Editions, [1992]

©1992
Physical Description:
165 pages ; 23 cm
Language:
English
Contents:
Shenandoah -- Paris and Helen -- Choosing company -- Dr. Bergen's belief -- Venus in the back room.
ISBN:
9780918526908

9780918526915
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library PS3537.C79 S53 1992 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary


Five verse plays, at once fiercely original and in the tradition of T.S. Eliot and W.H. Auden, by a major American poet of the twentieth century.


Summary

In the tradition of T. S. Eliot and W. H. Auden, but also fiercely original, these five verse plays mix autobiography and history, myths and ghosts, fantasy and comedy in thematic dramatizations of alienation, loneliness, Faustian bargains, and American materialism by a major American poet of the twentieth century.


Author Notes

Delmore Schwartz was born on December 8, 1913 in Brooklyn, New York. He later attended the University of Wisconsin, New York University and Harvard University.

He was considered one of the most influential Jewish writers during World War II. He wrote poems, short stories, and literary criticism. His works include In Dreams Begin Responsibilities, The Imitation of Life, The World Is a Wedding, and Successful Love and Other Stories. In 1959, he received the Bollingen Prize for Summer Knowledge: New and Selected Poems.

He was an editor for the Partisan Review and The New Republic. He also taught creative writing at several universities including Harvard University, Syracuse University, Princeton University and Kenyon College. He suffered from alcohol addiction and mental illness later in life. He died of a heart attack on July 11, 1966 at the age of 52.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Delmore Schwartz was born on December 8, 1913 in Brooklyn, New York. He later attended the University of Wisconsin, New York University and Harvard University.

He was considered one of the most influential Jewish writers during World War II. He wrote poems, short stories, and literary criticism. His works include In Dreams Begin Responsibilities, The Imitation of Life, The World Is a Wedding, and Successful Love and Other Stories. In 1959, he received the Bollingen Prize for Summer Knowledge: New and Selected Poems.

He was an editor for the Partisan Review and The New Republic. He also taught creative writing at several universities including Harvard University, Syracuse University, Princeton University and Kenyon College. He suffered from alcohol addiction and mental illness later in life. He died of a heart attack on July 11, 1966 at the age of 52.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Google Preview