Cover image for Two solicitudes : conversations
Two solicitudes : conversations
Atwood, Margaret, 1939-
Personal Author:
Uniform Title:
Deux sollicitudes. English
Publication Information:
Toronto : M&S, [1998]

Physical Description:
xii, 252 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
General Note:
Translation of: Deux sollicitudes : entretiens.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PR9199.3.A8 Z46513 1998 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



In March 1995, Victor-Levy Beaulieu, the well-known French-Canadian novelist and man of letters, spent a week in Toronto, staying with Margaret Atwood. That week in Toronto was matched by a return engagement in May 1995, when Margaret Atwood visited Victor-Levy Beaulieu's country home near Trois-Pistoles, Quebec. There, over ten days, they discussed many topics of mutual interest that underlie literature: the importance of childhood, of myth, of belonging to territory, the real versus the imaginary world, power and the lack of it, and their own works.

Author Notes

Margaret Atwood was born on November 18, 1939 in Ottawa, Canada. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962.

Her first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie, Power Politics, Cat's Eye, The Robber Bride, Morning in the Buried House, the MaddAdam trilogy, and The Heart Goes Last. She has won numerous awards including the Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, the Booker Prize in 2000 for The Blind Assassin, the Giller Prize and the Premio Mondello for Alias Grace, and the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the very first Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1987. She won the PEN Pinter prize in 2016 for her political activism. She was awarded the 2016 PEN Pinter Prize for the outstanding literary merit of her body of work.

(Bowker Author Biography) Margaret Atwood is the author of more than twenty-five books, including fiction, poetry, and essays. Among her recent works are the bestselling novels, Alias Grace and The Robber Bride, and the short-story collections, Good Bones and Simple Murders and Wilderness Tips. Atwood lives in Toronto, Canada.

(Bowker Author Biography)