Cover image for Champagne cocktails
Title:
Champagne cocktails
Author:
Miller, Anistatia R., 1952-
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : ReganBooks, [1999]

©1999
Physical Description:
xii, 114 pages : color illustrations ; 22 cm
General Note:
"Includes recipes, quotes, lore, and a directory of the world's poshest lounges"--Cover.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780060392925
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library TP555 .M55 1999 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Shaken, Not Stirred, this guide features a collection of recipes for champagne mixed drinks, fun historical facts, tips on selecting and serving and recipes for foods that go especially well with champagne.


Author Notes

Anistatia Miller and Jared Brown are the authors of Shaken Not Stirred: A Celebration of the Martini and run the award-winning Shaken Not Stirred website at http://members.aol.com/Theauthors/. Don Gatterdam is director of Custom Publishing for M. Shaken Communications, Inc. (publishers of Wine Spectator, Cigar Aficionado, and Food Arts), and serves on the board of directors for the American Institute of Wine and Food.


Reviews 1

Booklist Review

Books on specific wines, beers, and cuisines are readily accepted, but, as these three texts resoundingly show, cocktails can also be an imaginative and tasteful way to enhance guests' pleasure. All three use historical information, food recipes, and analyses of drink ingredients (including shopping tips) to transcend the mere cocktail list. With summer coming on, the citrusy, refreshing tone of the El Paso Chile Company installment has immediate appeal. And using Tequila in sorbet, cake glaze, or a savory-tangy sauce doesn't seem forced. Champagne Cocktails goes the extra distance with sidebarred anecdotes, jokes, and quotes relating not just to champagne, but to revelry in general. This book also includes a listing of famous and recommended champagne bars, an appendix of champagne producers, a bibliography, and an index. O'Hara's Connoisseur's Guide to the Bloody Mary relies on the creative use of delicious ingredients, such as nostril-flaming Wasabi and a cornucopian, tomato-free vegetable juice. --Dane Carr


Table of Contents

The Cocktail Menup. VI
Prefacep. IX
Introductionp. XI
I The Night They Invented Champagnep. 1
II Fizz Edp. 13
III I Get a Kick Out of Youp. 27
IV 57,000,000 Bubblesp. 51
V The Foods of Lovep. 87
VI Happy Hourp. 99
VII Producers of Champagne and Sparkling Winesp. 107
Creditsp. 112
Acknowledgmentsp. 113
Last Callp. 114

Google Preview