Cover image for Touching the edge : dharma devotions from the hummingbird Sangha
Title:
Touching the edge : dharma devotions from the hummingbird Sangha
Author:
McClure, Michael.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
Boston : Shambhala, 1999.
Physical Description:
ix, 118 pages ; 24 cm
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781570624407
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library PS3563.A262 T6 1999 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks-Non circulating
Searching...
Central Library PS3563.A262 T6 1999 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

     Innovative Beat poet Michael McClure has written a book of poems unlike any of his others. These dharma devotions are fruits of his Buddhist mediation practice. Like bold calligraphy moving vertically down a white scroll, they surprise the eye and mind, awakening us to a heightened sense of everyday things.


Author Notes

A native midwesterner, Michael McClure is associated with the San Francisco renaissance of the mid 1950's, and his work, in the tradition of Blake and Artaud, is prophetic in tone and usually quite experimental on the printed page. His plays, "The Beard" (1965) and "The Tooth of Crime" are underground theater classics. He is part of the poet's theater movement that was revived in San Francisco in the 1980's.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Google Preview