Cover image for A good story and other stories
A good story and other stories
Westlake, Donald E.
Personal Author:
Standard print hardcover edition.
Publication Information:
Unity, Me. : Five Star, 1999.
Physical Description:
259 pages ; 22 cm.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Library
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Here's a short story collection by Donald Westlake, Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America. "Once on a Desert Island" explores the fantasy life of a marooned bookkeeper, who finds out how dangerous a vivid imagination can be. "Sinner or Saint" finds a minister trying to hustle a wealthy parishioner's famous heirloom diamond. "Never Shake a Family Tree" tells the story of a woman searching for genealogical information, and the response she gets from a seemingly charming man. These and the other stories in this anthology demonstrate Westlake's considerable talents.

Author Notes

Author Donald E. Westlake was born in Brooklyn, New York on July 12, 1933. He attended colleges in New York, but did not graduate. He wrote more than 100 novels and 5 screenplays throughout his lifetime. He also wrote under numerous pseudonyms including Richard Stark, Tucker Coe, and Samuel Holt. Almost 20 of his novels were adapted into films and he created the television series, The Father Dowling Mysteries. He is a three-time winner of the Edgar Award from the Mystery Writers of America and was nominated for an Academy Award for his screenplay for The Grifters. He was also named a Mystery Writers of America Grand Master in 1993. He died of a heart attack on December 31, 2008 at the age of 75.

(Bowker Author Biography) Donald E. Westlake has won three Edgar Awards & was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Adapted Screenplay for "The Grifters". He lives in upstate New York.

(Publisher Provided)

Google Preview