Cover image for The prehistory of the mind : the cognitive origins of art and science
Title:
The prehistory of the mind : the cognitive origins of art and science
Author:
Mithen, Steven J.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First paperback edition.
Publication Information:
London, New York : Thames and Hudson, [1999, 1996]

©1999, 1996
Physical Description:
288 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780500281000
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library GN281.4 .M57 1996 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Here is an exhilarating intellectual performance, in the tradition of Roger Penrose's The Emperor's New Mind and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. On the way to showing how the world of our ancient ancestors shaped our modern modular mind, Steven Mithen shares one provocative insight after another as he answers a series of fascinating questions:Were our brains hard-wired in the Pleistocene Era by the needs of hunter-gatherers?When did religious beliefs first emerge?Why were the first paintings made by humankind so technically accomplished and expressive?What can the sexual habits of chimpanzees tell us about the prehistory of the modern mind?This is the first archaeological account to support the new modular concept of the mind. The concept, promulgated by cognitive and evolutionary psychologists, views the mind as a collection of specialized intelligences or "cognitive domains," somewhat like a Swiss army knife with its specialized blades and tools. Arguing that only archaeology can answer many of the key questions raised by the new concept, Mithen delineates a three-phase sequence for the mind's evolution over six million years--from early Homo in Africa to the ice-age Neanderthals to our modern modular minds. The Prehistory of the Mind is an intriguing and challenging explanation of what it means to be human, a bold new theory about the origins and nature of the mind.


Google Preview