Cover image for The cycle of fire : Stormwarden ; Keeper of the keys ; Shadowfane
The cycle of fire : Stormwarden ; Keeper of the keys ; Shadowfane
Wurts, Janny.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : HarperPrism, 1999.
Physical Description:
694 pages : illustrations, map ; 24 cm.
Stormwarden -- Keeper of keys -- Shadowfane.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
FICTION Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Science Fiction/Fantasy

On Order



A collection of the three volumes of a classic fantasy trilogy finds three young people struggling to free the Stormwarden, the last of the elemental power-wielding Vaere sorcerers, so that he can battle the humanity-threatening demonkind. Original.

Author Notes

Janny Wurts Janny Wurst began her writing career while still in high school, when she wrote several novels which she never published. After graduation and a self-financed trip to Europe, Wurts knew that she wanted to create something spectacular but needed life experiences to add a flavor of reality to it. While still in college, she conceived the idea for "The Wars of Light and Shadow." But she was also drawn to painting, and first achieved success as a commercial illustrator for major New York publishing houses, with the intention of using her skill to create covers for her own books.

After years of working as an illustrator, Wurts sold her first novel, "Sorcerer's Legacy," in 1982. It was followed by the "Cycle of Fire" coming of age trilogy: "Stormwarden" in 1984, "Keeper of the Keys" in 1986 and "Shadowfane" in 1988. Raymond E. Feist, a fellow fantasy author, asked Wurts to co-author a series set on the Tsurani world that he had created. The resulting Empire trilogy of "Daughter of the Empire," published in 1987, "Servant of the Empire" in 1990 and "Mistress of the Empire" in 1992, was an international bestseller which placed Wurts in the spotlight and named her a true fantasy writer.

The project for which she is best known is the "Wars of Light and Shadow" series, of which new stories are still being written.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

This stout and epic tale mixing fantasy and SF was originally published in the 1980s in mass market in three volumes, Stormwarden, Keeper of the Keys and Shadowfane. Whether those novels have been edited for this edition or not, the joint publication brings out the essential unity of the story. Far in the future, a human-crewed starship crashes on a distant planet, carrying a load of alien POWs taken to help discover the secrets of a deadly foe, the group mind known as the Gierj. In time, the humans revert to a feudal society, the aliens are seen as "demons" and the starship's computer survives as a "magical" entity known as the Vaere. Two powerful human wizards learn the mental techniques (or magic) of the Vaere, but one, Ivain Firelord, dies mad, and the other, Anskiere Stormwarden, is distrusted and imprisoned. The burden of fighting the Shadowfane, the realm of the demons, falls on Taen Dreamweaver, a fisherman's daughter, and on an orphan boy named Jaric, who is actually Ivain's bastard son. They are in a race against time to master Vaere powers, because the Shadowfane are on the march, and Taen's brother has become a minion of the Shadowfane, known as Maelgrim Dark Dreamer. The race is full of action, splendid scenes of magic (including some terrifying dreams) and engaging secondary characters. It also has many well-handled seafaring scenes (Robin Hobb's Liveship Saga fans, take note) and an amiable, even tender romance subplot. Jaric and Taen are the eventual victors, but not without cost, nor without the possibility of future adventures among the stars and against the Gierj. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved