Cover image for The SFWA grand masters
The SFWA grand masters
Pohl, Frederik.
First edition.
Physical Description:
<volumes 1- > ; 22 cm
General Note:
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Robert A. Heinlein -- Jack Williamson -- Clifford D. Simak -- Fritz Leiber -- L. Sprague de Camp
Added Author:
Added Corporate Author:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PS648.S3 S17 1999 V.1 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area

On Order



The Nebula Awards are voted on and presented by active members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. The Grand Master Award is given to a living author for a lifetimes achievement in science fiction and/or fantasy. Frederik Pohl, an eminent figure in SF, has been authorized by the SFWA to edit selections of the work of all the first fifteen Grand Masters.

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

SF/Fantasy??? The Grand Master Nebula award, established by the Science Fiction Writers of America to honor outstanding lifetime achievement, has been awarded 15 times. In this volume, editor Pohl, himself a highly likely candidate for the award, presents the first five Grand Master designees: Robert A. Heinlein, Jack Williamson, Clifford D. Simak, Fritz Leiber, and L. Sprague de Camp. Each is the subject of a biographical sketch that precedes a sampling of his short fiction, plus autobiographical pieces by Heinlein and Williamson and an essay by de Camp, and a list of five stories or novels recommended for further reading. Introductory is the key word to describe this volume's value. Big sf and fantasy collections will probably include its contents already, and experienced, knowledgeable readers will probably know everything about these authors already. But less-experienced fans--a continually expanding number--who want grounding in the genres' classics and their authors would be hard put to find better books to start with than this one. --Roland Green

Library Journal Review

This is the beginning of a three-volume anthology of selected works by the first 15 recipients of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Associations Grand Master award, which recognizes a lifetime body of work, of a quality that helped to shape the entire course of science fiction writing. Pohl, himself a Grand Master, has selected four to five works, mostly short stories, from the first five recipients: Robert A. Heinlein, Jack Williamson, Clifford D. Simak, L. Sprague de Camp, and Fritz Leiber. He introduces each group with a short history of the writers career and anecdotes from Pohls personal acquaintance with him. The short stories, while not always the authors best works, are representative of their styles and motifs and the early days of sf writing. Pohl has also included some extracts from novels, autobiographies, and essays, which, unfortunately, feel fragmented. Still, this is a good choice for sf collections.Devon Thomas, Highland Twp. Lib., MI (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.