Cover image for Hawaiʻi one summer
Hawaiʻi one summer
Kingston, Maxine Hong.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Honolulu : University of Hawaiʻi Press, 1998.
Physical Description:
xviii, 72 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
General Note:
"A Latitude 20 book."

Originally published: San Francisco : Meadow Press, 1987.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PS3561.I52 Z468 1998 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



"I did not wait for twenty years to write the pieces in this book, which is like a diary. There is sometimes only a week or two between an event and my writing about it. I wrote about my son's surfing upon coming home from it. I wrote about the high school reunion before going to it. The result is that I am making up meanings as I go along. Which is the way I live anyway. There is a lot of detailed doubt here."

In this collection of eleven pieces, originally issued as a limited hand-printed edition, Maxine Hong Kingston does not attempt to capture Hawai'i but "instead and incidentally" to describe her "piece by piece, and hope that the sum praises her." The essays provide readers with a generous sampling of Kingston's signature: an angle of vision, exquisitely balanced and clear-sighted, that awakens one to a knowledge of things.

Author Notes

Born in California to immigrant Chinese parents, Kingston was educated at the University of California at Berkeley. Kingston soared to literary celebrity upon the publication of her autobiographica The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood among Ghosts (1976). The Woman Warrior is dominated by Kingston's mother; her next work, China Men (1980), although not autobiographical in the manner of her previous book, is focused on her father and on the other men in her family, giving fictionalized, poetic versions of their histories. The combination of fiction, nonfiction, memoir, and myth in both books create a form of balanced opposites that one critic has likened to yin and yang. Her first novel, Tripmaster Monkey: His Fake Book, was published in 1989.

(Bowker Author Biography)