Cover image for Crime on her mind : a collection of short stories
Crime on her mind : a collection of short stories
Hart, Carolyn G.
Personal Author:
Standard print hardcover edition.
Publication Information:
Unity, Me. : Five Star, 1999.
Physical Description:
268 pages ; 22 cm
None of my business, but... -- Nothing ventured -- Henrie O's holiday -- An almost perfect murder -- An almost perfect heist -- Out of the ashes -- Remembrance -- Dead on the net -- Life-interest -- Upstaging murder -- Her good name -- Accidents happen.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



Control was the word Dr Toby Harper lived by. She strove to keep her life in order, her ER in order. But no one could have been prepared for the man she admits one quiet night to the Springer Hospital. Delirious and in a critical condition, he barely responds to treatment. And then he disappears without trace.The subsequent search leads Toby to a second patient with the same infection. And it reveals an unsettling twist – the infection can only be spread through direct tissue exchange. Soon Toby's on a trail that winds from a pregnant sixteen-year-old prostitute to an unexpected tragedy in her own home. Only then does she discover the unthinkable: a terrifying and deadly epidemic is about to be unleashed …

Author Notes

Carolyn G. Hart is the author of eight award-winning Death on Demand mysteries and four Henrie O mysteries. The first writer to win all three major mystery awards--the Agatha, the Anthony, and the Macavity--for her novels, Hart is the former president of the organization Sisters in Crime.

Hart's first novel in her mystery series, entitled Death on Demand, focuses on prime murder suspect Annie Laurance Darling and her attempt to clear her tarnished name. Some of the other novels in the series include Something Wicked, winner of the Agatha Award in 1988 and the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original in 1989, Design for Murder, and Honeymoon with Murder, which won the Anthony Award in 1990. Letter From Home also won the Agatha Award for Best Novel in 2003.

Her latest novel is entitled, The Devereaux Legacy. (Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 3

Booklist Review

This agreeable anthology from popular mystery author Hart features two of the author's familiar series characters. Eight of the 12 stories star Henrie O, retired journalist, amateur sleuth, and protagonist of several Hart novels. Two of the stories star Laurel Darling and daughter-in-law Annie from Hart's Death on Demand series. All of the stories are well organized and possess Hart's signature cozy charm, vivid landscapes, and surprise endings. Unfortunately, each Henrie O tale repeats the same backstory--details about Henrie and her partners in crime. The stories are preceded by Hart's perceptive introduction on women in mysteries. A good choice for the author's many fans.--John Rowen

Publisher's Weekly Review

The strength of Hart's latest lies not in its mystery‘which is easily deduced‘but in its sleuth: 60-something Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Henrietta O'Dwyer Collins (a.k.a. Henrie O), who, with her modest suits, sensible shoes and disingenuous ways, can charm the truth out of the most venomous foe. Henrie is in San Antonio seeking a friend's granddaughter, Iris Chavez, who has been missing for nearly a week after she suddenly bolted from her job at Tesoros, a gallery renowned for its superior Mexican artwork. The upscale establishment is run by the formidable Garza family, headed by patrician matriarch Maria Elena, but it doesn't take Henrie long to sense that something sinister lies under the family's gracious veneer. With Maria Elena's blessing, Henrie begins to investigate Iris's relationship with the clan, and discovers she can trust Iris's lover, Rick Garza, who, indeed, does produce the missing girl. But what are the two terrified youngsters concealing? After uncovering a conspiracy (and a couple of dead bodies), Henrie finds herself in grave danger. This fifth in the series (after Death in Paradise) is enhanced by Hart's knowledgeable descriptions of fine Central American artwork. In addition, each malicious character is splendid in his small role. And though the plot is slender and the finale melodramatic, Henrie O‘sturdy, relentless yet compassionate‘carries the show. (Mar.) FYI: Carolyn Hart has won the Agatha, Anthony and Macavity awards. In February, Five Star/Macmillan USA will release Crime on Her Mind ($21.95 272p ISBN 0-7862-1735-9), the first collection of Hart's short stories, many of which also feature Henrie O. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Library Journal Review

This short-story collection mainly features Hart series regulars Henrie O. (Death in Lovers' Lane, LJ 1/97) and Annie Laurance Darling (Yankee Doodle Dead, LJ 10/1/98). In Hart's words, they investigate failed relationships as only "nosy" women can. For collections where Hart is popular. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.