Cover image for The hits just keep on coming : the history of top 40 radio
The hits just keep on coming : the history of top 40 radio
Fong-Torres, Ben.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
San Francisco : Miller Freeman Books ; Emeryville, CA : Distributed to the book trade in the U.S. and Canada by Publishers Group West ; Milwaukee, WI : Distributed to the music trade in the U.S. and Canada by Hal Leonard Pub., [1998]

Physical Description:
272 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
ML68 .F68 1998 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area

On Order



Celebrating the 40th birthday of Top 40, this is the story behind the station. It contains interviews with the DJs and talks about rock, R&B, country and pop music. There is a chapter on British pirate radio and an exploration of the growth of Top 40.

Table of Contents

Preface: In the Still of the Nightp. 4
Acknowledgments: This Is Dedicated ...p. 8
Introduction: Radio Ga Gap. 11
1 Video Killed the Radio Starp. 15
2 The First Time ...p. 19
3 The King of the Old Moondoggersp. 31
4 The Founding Daddy-osp. 37
5 The Good Guysp. 47
6 Bill Gavin: Let's Work Togetherp. 59
7 Hey, Mr. Deejay, I: The Initial Buzzp. 65
8 You Turn Me On, I'm a Radiop. 81
9 Bustedp. 93
10 Hey, Mr. Deejay, II: I'm Sorryp. 117
11 Listen to the Musicp. 127
12 Hey, Mr. Deejay, III: East Side, West Sidep. 133
13 Hit Me With Your Best Shotp. 147
14 Big Boss Manp. 167
15 British Radio: Sink the Piratesp. 193
16 FM (No Static At All)p. 199
17 Just Running Scaredp. 211
18 Video Killed the Radio Star (Reprise)p. 223
19 Different Strokes ...p. 245
Top of the Popsp. 252
Bibliographyp. 264
Indexp. 268
Creditsp. 271