Cover image for Complete stories, 1884-1891
Complete stories, 1884-1891
James, Henry, 1843-1916.
Personal Author:
Uniform Title:
Short stories. Selections
Publication Information:
New York : Library of America, [1999]

Physical Description:
904 pages ; 21 cm.
Georgina's reasons -- A New England Winter -- The path of duty -- Mrs. Temperly -- Louisa Pallant -- The Aspern papers -- The liar -- The modern warning -- A London life -- The lesson of the master -- The Patagonia -- The solution -- The pupil -- Brooksmith -- The marriages -- The chaperon -- Sir Edmund Orme.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Library

On Order



Complete Stories 1884-1891 features among its seventeen stories some of James' greatest masterpieces, among them "The Aspern Papers", a stunning novella about emotional ruthlessness in the service of literary scholarship, "The Lesson of the Master", an intricate study of ambition, disappointment, and the demands of a life devoted to art; "Brooksmith", a moving portrait of a house servant; and the enthralling ghost story "Sir Edmund Orme".

Author Notes

Henry James, American novelist and literary critic, was born in 1843 in New York City. Psychologist-philosopher William James was his brother. By the age of 18, he had lived in France, England, Switzerland, Germany, and New England. In 1876, he moved to London, having decided to live abroad permanently.

James was a prolific writer; his writings include 22 novels, 113 tales, 15 plays, approximately 10 books of criticism, and 7 travel books. His best-known works include Daisy Miller, The Turn of the Screw, The Portrait of a Lady, The Ambassadors, and The American Scene. His works of fiction are elegant and articulate looks at Victorian society; while primarily set in genteel society, James subtlely explores class issues, sexual repression, and psychological distress.

Henry James died in 1916 in London. The James Memorial Stone in Poet's Corner, Westminster Abbey, commemorates him.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

The Library of America is starting off 1999 with a bang. This massive collection of stories is actually the third and fourth installments in what eventually will be a five-volume series. Along with standards like "Daisy Miller" and "The Aspern Papers," this edition includes 22 stories that have been long unavailable. Essential for serious literature collections. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Google Preview