Cover image for Worlds of Honor
Worlds of Honor
Weber, David, 1952-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Riverdale, NY : Baen Books, 1999.
Physical Description:
343 pages ; 25 cm
General Note:
"A Baen Books original"--T.p. verso.
The stray / Linda Evans -- What price dreams? / David Weber -- Queen's gambit / Jane Lindskold -- The hard way home / David Weber -- Deck load strike / Roland J. Green.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



DAVID WEBER himself contributes three never-before-published excursions into Honor's world, among them the story of how she first discovered her own inner strength and courage; and a chapter in the history of the telepathic treecats, who form a bond with their chosen human that can only be severed by death. ROLAND GREEN, author of the 'Starcruiser Shenandoah' series and the 'Peace Company' series, delivers a hardhitting tale of conflict between Manticore and the People's Republic of Haven. LINDA EVANS, co-author of 'Time Scout', explores life with the treecats before Honor came. And JAMES LINDSKOLD, author of 'Brother to Dragons, Companion to Owls', tells how Honor's Queen, Elizabeth III, had to learn the hard way what monarchy was all about.

Author Notes

David Weber was born in Cleveland, Ohio on October 24, 1952. He received an undergraduate degree from Warren Wilson College and attended graduate school at Appalachian State University. He ran Weber Associates, a small advertising and public relations agency, for several years.

He currently writes science fiction and fantasy full-time. His first novel, Insurrection, in collaboration with Steve White, was published in 1990. He has authored or co-authored over 40 books including The Honor of the Queen, In Enemy Hands, The Service of the Sword, Storm from the Shadows, the Honor Harrington series, the Safehold series, and the Star Kingdom series.

Weber's first book in the Manticore Ascendant Series, co-authored with Timothy Zahn, made the New York Times bestseller list in October 2014. At the Sign of Triumph, book 9 in the Safehold series, made the New York Times bestseller list in 2016.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 3

Booklist Review

(It is Booklist policy that a book written by a regular contributor receive a brief description rather than a recommending review.) Stalwart sf, fantasy, and military history reviewer Roland Green wrote the last of these five short novels featuring Weber's sturdy military sf heroine, Honor Harrington, whose latest novel-length adventure is Echoes of Honor [BKL S 15 98]. Of the other four stories, Honor's creator wrote two, Linda Evans one, and Jane Lindskold one. --Ray Olson

Publisher's Weekly Review

It is Weber's wondrous treecats, not his popular woman warrior, Honor Harrington, who ultimately dominate this five-story collection. The book features the work of four authors, despite the solo cover credit, and is an obvious attempt to provide something for every taste in Weber's fandom, as was last year's More Than Honor. In the space-faring universe of Weber's novels (In Enemy Hands, etc.), Honor defends her gallant Star Kingdom of Manticore with the irresistible classiness of the British military and the legendary brassiness of the U.S. Marines, as well as with the quasi-telepathic aid of her treecat, Nimitz. In Weber's "The Hard Way Home," an episode drawn from Honor's early career, and in Roland Green's lively and inventive (if Honor-less and treecat-less) "Deck Load Strike," the Manties' opponents are the creepy People's Republic of Haven and their nasty allies, wittily modeled on Earth's familiar petty dictators, drug lords and religious fanatics. Except in the Green piece and in "Queen's Gambit," Jane Lindskold's soggy coming-of-age tale about Honor's monarch, the empathic alien treecats of Honor's home planet steal the show. Even though Honor is yet unborn and thus missing from the action in Linda Evans's "The Stray" and Weber's other entry, "What Price Dreams?," both stories appealingly oscillate between human and 'cat sensibilities in the earliest stages of the treecats' poignant association with their human partners. All five stories, though uneven taken together, provide intriguing background glimpses of Honor's‘and Nimitz's‘worlds. (Feb.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Library Journal Review

A desperate appeal from a grief-stricken treecat leads Dr. Scott MacDallan to a startling discovery in Linda Evans's "The Stray," the first in this collection of five stories set in the far-future universe that serves as the background for the Honor Harrington series. Series author Weber contributes a pair of tales involving the empathic bond between treecats and their chosen humans ("What Price Dreams" and "The Hard Way Home"), while Jane Lindskold explores the early days of a young queen in "Queen's Gambit." Recommended for sf collections, with particular appeal for fans of Weber's popular novels featuring Honor Harrington (Echoes of Honor, LJ 9/15/98). (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.