Cover image for Peacemakers : winners of the Nobel Peace Prize
Peacemakers : winners of the Nobel Peace Prize
Keene, Ann T.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Oxford University Press, [1998]

Physical Description:
303 pages : illustrations ; 29 cm.
An essay describing the establishment of the Nobel Peace Prize precedes chronologically organized profiles of all the individuals and organizations that have received the award since 1901.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
JZ5540 .K44 1998 Adult Non-Fiction Reference material
JZ5540 .K44 1998 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks-Oversize

On Order



Here, in a single volume, are the profiles of all the individuals and organizations that have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize since its establishment in 1901. From the creator of the prize, Alfred Nobel, the Swedish industrialist who invented dynamite, to Jody Williams and the InternationalCampaign to Ban Landmines, these individuals and organizations have devoted their lives to peace and have made our world a better place to live. Ann Keene chronicles the moving stories of the winners of the Nobel Peace prize in 79 essays that focus on the activities that earned each person or organization the prize. She includes fascinating anecdotes about and quotations from the recipients and, at the same time, introduces readers to majorevents in world history. The winners of the most prestigious peace award in the world include: Henri Dunant (1901), the founder of the International Committee of the Red Cross Theodore Roosevelt (1906), who, as President of the United States, mediated an end to the Russo-Japanese War in 1905; he was the first American to win the prize Fridtjof Nansen (1922), Norwegian humanitarian, scientist, and Arctic explorer Jane Addams (1931), peace activist and social reformer, and a founder of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom Ralph J. Bunche (1950), who worked to achieve peace in the Middle East; he was the first African American to win the prize Lester Pearson (1957), who as a member of the Canadian delegation to the United Nations played a key role in ending the Suez Canal crisis Albert Luthuli (1960), former president of the African National Congress and outspoken opponent of South Africa's apartheid system Martin Luther King, Jr. (1964), U.S. civil rights activist United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) (1965), which continues to provide assistance to children in developing countries throughout the world Mairead Corrigan and Betty Williams (1976), cofounders of Peace People, an organization dedicated to ending violence in Northern Ireland Mother Teresa (1979), originally a high schoolteacher in India who won the prize for her work with the poor of Calcutta Elie Wiesel (1986), the author who has drawn international attention to the Holocaust Aung San Suu Kyi (1991), founder of the National League for Democracy in Myanmar (Burma) who lived under house arrest for six years Appendixes include a chronological listing of the Nobel Peace Prize Winners, a timeline recounting historic milestones in the peace movement, a listing of major peace organizations, a short glossary of terms, further reading, and an index. From the career diplomats and politicians to the ordinary people who discovered an opportunity to act on behalf of peace, these stories honor those who have made a profound difference in the world. Peacemakers is the ideal introduction to the Nobel Peace Prize for young readers and is anindispensable reference for anyone who is interested in world peace and history.

Author Notes

Ann T. Keene, a writer of nonfiction for both adults and children, is the author of Earthkeepers: Observers and Protectors of Nature and the editor of the forthcoming Oxford American Children's Encyclopedia.

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

This title in the Oxford Profiles series provides coverage of winners from the first, Red Cross founder Henri Dunant, to 1997 winner Jody Williams, founder of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines. Arrangement is chronological.

School Library Journal Review

Gr 6 Up-A concise, chronologically arranged title that encompasses Nobel Peace Prize-winning individuals and organizations from 1901 to 1997. Following a brief introduction to Alfred Nobel, two-to-five page summaries on the lives and achievements of the pacifists and the goals and work of peacemaking institutions are given. Sidebars highlight important dates and major accomplishments. Bibliographies are provided after most articles and additional listings are located at the end of the book. Some titles on this list are marked for younger readers. Appendixes that include the names and addresses of major international peace organizations make this a useful resource. Black-and-white photographs and reproductions accompany the entries. A welcome addition that will complement Tyler Wasson's Nobel Prize Winners (Wilson, 1987).-Kathleen A. Nester, Downingtown High Ninth Grade Center, PA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.